The “I Still Live at Home Because Lipsticks” Challenge: Days 3-7

16 Jan

I am doing it! I am really doing it. But posting every day seems a little silly so from now on I will post once week and discuss my (hopefully) successful week in lipstick wearing.

These past few days I went for more subtle colors. On Saturday, I wore Kat Von D’s Painted Love Lipstick in Love Craft. This is a go-to for me after I went to Sephora and asked my friend to find me a color that looked like “my lips at this exact moment.” You know how, sometimes, your lips just miraculously look great without any color on them? For me it happens like once a year so I wanted to capture the moment and find what the makeup ladies call the “My Lips But Better” lipstick. My buddy found this one for me and I love it. It’s described as a berry beige but on me it’s more of a muted pink.

Image

I buy Kat Von D products because it makes me feel like a badass.

It’s matte, looks natural and adds a little color to my face so I don’t look like the washed out zombie that I am when I first wake up. Score!

Before I continue, I would like to point out that one positive thing about being a makeup hoarder is that every now and then, you get something for free! MAC has the “Back to MAC” program where you can redeem 6 empty MAC products for a free lipstick. Now of course in actuality you paid for this “free” item 6 times over (hence the 3 empty containers) but it’s still exciting to get a treat just for trading in your trash (or an empty mac container you found on the street – true story). I would also like to add that it took me about 4 years to get 6 empty containers so I savored the moment. With some advice from my fashionable friend, Briana, I bought Mehr. Unfortunately Mehr happens to be part of the “Middle Eastern Collection” which, to me, just SCREAMS cultural appropriation. I am not about that life but I didn’t know that it was part of the line at the time so don’t hold it against me. This one is a “dirty blue pink” – whatever the hell that means. It’s a matte one, and y’all know I love my mattes! I like the look but more importantly I like FEELING. I like knowing that I have lipstick on so I don’t chew on my lips which is something I tend to do absentmindedly. The smoother lipsticks don’t last very long on me because apparently I like to eat my own face.

Image

What exactly makes this “dirty”?

Minus the slight cultural insensitivity, this one is a winner! Just in case you were wondering, the other colors in this line have names like “Tabla” and “Yash” which are actually Indian words/names. Indian, you know, as in NOT the Middle East. Ok well maybe they can get away with “Tabla” because it comes from the Arabic word “tabl” and… ok why am I defending this? The line is a bad idea! Oh, MAC.

Are you guys bored yet? Me too. But let’s press on, shall we? Ok so Monday I wore Syrup by Mac. This one does not have an offensive name which is great but didn’t last very long, which is not so great.  This one is SUPER smooth and makes me forget I have lipstick on. For a normal person that’s a good thing but for me it means I can rub my hands all over my face and chew on my lips and make it disappear. Oh well. It was nice while it lasted. This one is a sheer pink with a purple tone. I like purple. I don’t know why. If I can figure out a way to stop ingesting it, I think I’ll use it more often

Image

This one is called syrup… maybe that’s why I kept eating it.

Tuesday was the wild card! Technically this wasn’t a lipstick but since it was a lip color I figured it still counted as part of the experiment. Plus, I only recently bought it so in order to not feel like the biggest money waster that ever wasted money, I used it. My bff and co-blogger Valeria has been singing the praises of Lush for years but I ignored her. Partially because I thought Lush was for hippies and partially because I had this sneaking suspicion that if I ever purchased any of their products I would be hooked. Well, I was right. Total hippie store with hippie products and totally addictive! Once I upgraded my skincare (which was 100% necessary) I bought the ‘It Started With a Kiss’ lip tint… because it kind of reminds me of the Killers’ song Mr. Brightside. Whatever! I wanted it, ok?! And I like it. It’s easy to use, gives a natural flush and it stains the lips as opposed to just sitting on top so even when I’m drinking my morning (afternoon… and late afternoon) coffees, it doesn’t come off. Yay Lush! You money swallowing bastards.

I feel like that the title of this lip stain is teasing me about being single. RUDE.

I feel like that the title of this lip stain is teasing me about being single. RUDE.

Wednesday.. well Wednesday I just wore syrup again. Thinking about how you think is hard work, guys! And I don’t think it’s work I’m cut out for. I mean, have you ever seen my hair? I’ll give myself a break, though, because lipsticks are meant to be used more than once, right? Plus doing this whole thing has allowed me to rediscover some colors I didn’t even know I had – kind of like shopping in your own closet and finding that awesome New Kids on the Block shirt you didn’t know you had. Oh wait, am I the only one that has a New Kids on the Block shirt? And it’s not awesome? Oh…

Powering through! Week 2 here I come!

4 Responses to “The “I Still Live at Home Because Lipsticks” Challenge: Days 3-7”

  1. Mere January 17, 2014 at 4:40 pm #

    I just read/saw this on HuffPost and want to try it so badddd: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/01/16/obsessive-compulsive-cosmetics-black-metal-dahlia-metallic-lip-tar-review_n_4608741.html Have you used it?

    • Valeria January 17, 2014 at 10:35 pm #

      I personally haven’t, but judging from that review, the key to a flawless application is to exfoliate and moisturize your lips (Lush sugar scrub is awesome for this) and whenever possible to use a lip liner.

    • killacan January 18, 2014 at 6:46 am #

      I’ve tried it on in stores. To be honest I am not sure how to make the most out of it. I know folks who swear by it but it seems too complicated for me. Though I believe the finish is matte which I love!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Single Lady Beauty: Chocolate Coffee Hair Rinse | Notes Between Friends - January 23, 2014

    […] is terrifying and it’s a lot safer to just stay at home and cuddle our pets (in my case) and jazz up our lipstick collection (in Candace’s case).   I think one of the greatest things about being single is that I can […]

Leave a Reply

