Delicious Movie Foods: Part I

3 Mar

If you’ve ever been a fat kid, or a skinny kid who just loved food, you’ve taken note of all the delicious foods featured in commercials, television shows and movies. If you’re like me, you took it to a whole other level. You, unlike your “normal” counterparts were basically raised by television and its loyal life partner, the VCR. You remember all the theme songs to shows featured on Nick at Nite, you learned tons of useless facts watching late-night shows meant for an adult audience and you drooled at the site of a Pizza Hut Pizza commercial- you know, the one with the cheese in the crust that 3 out of the 4 Monkees and 1 Beatles, obviously Ringo, tried to sell you. I never actually ate this pizza but in my mind it was the most delicious treat on the planet, which is why it was only available in the far reaches of such exotic lands as The Bronx and New Jersey. My pining for delicious foods extended to those shown in films. Most films feature at least one scene where the characters are eating,  but there were a few films where the food looked so tasty, so delectable that I actually found it distracting. These are those films.

Matilda

If you were born in the mid to late 80s, you know what I’m talking about right here. For many years, Brucie’s chocolate cake was my one and only desire. Sure the idea that he is forced to eat the entire cake by the Trunchbull is meant to be sickening but for me, it was a dream come true. The chocolate! The fudge! The lack of utensils! What a joy.

Living the dream!

Vegas Vacation

Now you may not know this movie because it is what most normal people might refer to as “bad” or “unwatchable.”  As I grow older I begin to realize that most of the movies I watched as a child and remember quite fondly, in reality, basically sucked. In any case, there is one scene where Ellen Griswald, mother of the Griswald clan, is being pursued romantically by Wayne Newton -as I type I am beginning to realize why people think this movie is bad- and he makes her a pasta dinner. Now I know what you’re thinking:  Pasta? What’s so great about that? To which I say, quiet down I’m getting to it! What makes this particular pasta dish so delectable is the sheer size of it. The comically over-sized bowl in which it is served along with and enormous brick of cheek being grated on top are supposed to be humorous, but they look seriously delicious.

Hook

Am I the only one who thought that weird, rainbow sorbet looking food the lost boys were chowing looked really tasty? Didn’t think so.

This kid knows what I'm talking about.

The Help

I feel a little bad trivializing a movie with such a serious subject matter – but I’m going to. I’m going to because I know I wasn’t the only one who thought Minnie’s fried chicken looked unbelievably delicious. Anybody with me? I know the woman sitting behind me in the theater is with me because when Jessica Chastain’s character bit into the chicken she literally moaned. Moaned I say! Plus I am almost certain that the deliciousness of fried chicken has been scientifically proven.

Rab Ne Bana di Jodi

Yes you read that right. Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi is a Hindi film and not only is it one of my favorite movies but it has spawned many a food fantasy on my part. This film has two delicious foods: gol goppa (or paani puri) and biryani. In the gol goppa scene, the two main characters are competing to see who can eat the most. The viewer is meant to be seriously grossed out at the sight of the characters messily eating these bite sized treats but seeing the sauce drip down their bloated faces only served to intrigue me more!  The second item featured in this film is biryani, a savory rice dish made of chicken and what I can only assume is some form of magic. Interestingly, this scene directly follows the gol gappa scene. and you’re really supposed to feel bad for the main character as he is forced to eat an entire dinner after just finishing this “competition.” While most would think “oh no, poor guy” I, on the contrary, thought “FOOOOD!”

Gol gappa competition!

Home Alone & Home Alone 2: Lost in New York

Basically everything Kevin McCallister eats sans parental supervision looks delicious. Two words: Little Niro’s. Oh, and keep the change ya filthy animal.

"Cheese pizza just for me."

Don’t Tell Mom The Babysitter’s Dead

This one is a little weird. There is no actual food in the film that looks delicious – the clown dogs looked weird and the low budget 1980s camera work pretty much made everything look pretty gray and fuzzy. There is one scene, however, where the food looks fun to eat – and fun is half of the eating experience! After the (spoiler!) babysitter dies, eldest sister Sue Ellen takes on the responsibility of caring for her 4 siblings, this includes making them breakfast. In her first attempt she pours and entire box of cereal into a punch bowl, adds milk and puts it on the table for them to share. Just in case you missed why this is great, let me reiterate that she poured an entire box of cereal into a punch bowl – you with me?

It's happening!

Hugo

Ok so I didn’t actually see Hugo (sorry Marty) but I did, however, see a gif on tumblr of some croissants that were shown in the film at some point. Needless to say,  they are rocking my world.

Hungry yet? Stay tuned for more Delicious Movie Foods. Now I gotta get something to eat!

2 Responses to “Delicious Movie Foods: Part I”

  1. Valeria March 4, 2012 at 12:16 am #

    Told Katie to read this — on her list is the pizza in Center Stage when Maureen, the Anorexic girl, gives in and chows down — it’s like heaven in her mouth!

    • killacan March 4, 2012 at 12:22 am #

      I know what she’s talkin’ about!

Leave a Reply

