Because The Bible Tells Her So

5 Sep

I came across this article on Slate today that I thought was completely baller.  Rachel Held Evans, an Evangelical blogger took it upon herself to follow the Bible Rules For Menstruating Ladies (both implied and not implied), and because of this she’s making people feel really uncomfortable about their biblical interpretations.

I was raised as a do-gooder Roman Catholic (as most Latin kids are) and was pretty into my religion.  I remember actually telling my parents that I wanted to go to Sunday School.  I was all about the rites and passage needed to be recognized as an official Catholic.  A good portion of family photos include me in some sort of praying or worship stance.  I was well on my way to becoming Hilary Faye — I’m certain of it.

But, as it turned out, everyone in the Church in Massachusetts turned out to be a big ol’ hypocritical Pedobear, and suddenly the service conducted by my favorite priest seemed meaningless to me.  How could I listen to someone preaching the “teachings of The Lord,” when all I could think about was sexual trauma.  By that point, many of my friends had come out or were sexually active — and to me, they had always been and remained the same person they were before “sinning.”

The Church, and I, were done, professionally.

But part of my religious education stuck with me.  At one point in my Catechism classes, my teacher, a bubbly red-head with ringlets that loved wearing green turtlenecks, always talked about how Jesus was the ultimate free-love hippie.  That he helped out people in need, and would turn water into wine to party with the common folk.  Thinking back on it, extolling the virtues of vino to 13 year olds probably wasn’t the wisest, but that’s what I always keep coming back to when it comes to religion.

Love all, don’t player hate.  Some would interpret the teachings of Jesus as to be like “he loved the lemmings because he wanted to help them become ‘normal'” or some BS like that.  So, you’re free to your interpretation, let me be free to mine.

When it comes to religion, I think back to an Abe Lincoln quote: “When I do good, I feel good. When I do bad, I feel bad. And that’s my religion.”

And that’s my Bibilical interpretation.

 

Leave a Reply

