Dating Etiquette

31 Aug

Candace and I like to fashion ourselves as Independent Women, aiight?  But, that’s not to say that when it comes to dating, we’re a little bit old-fashioned.

It’s not that we can’t afford to take ourselves out to nice places or buy fancy cocktails, but if we have to buy ourselves stuff, while simultaneously making awkward small-talk and pretending we’re having a nice time, when really we’d much rather be getting a bikini wax instead of hanging out with a BORE, is it too much to ask to just get comped for our time?

Wouldn’t we all have saved ourselves a lot of time and money and effort by just agreeing to a non-committal coffee date instead of a full-fledged dinner?

Am I being a bitch? I think I need additional input from ladies and men here.

 

 

3 Responses to “Dating Etiquette”

  1. mertufts August 31, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    Depends on who made it dinner. It has always been my opinion that whoever does the inviting or asking out and makes the date (plans it etc.) should pay! If I ask him out, or I plan the date I pay…but if he asks and plans it he pays.

    • Valeria August 31, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

      I like the way you think Lady! I agree too.

      But here’s something that I’ve noticed has happened to me and other ladies as well. Guy invites you out, he picks the place, etc … then you end up having awkward conversation — splitting the tab. etc.

      See, I take that all as signs like “THANK GOD THIS IS OVER, I’m going to be polite but I’m never going to see this person again.”

      Only to find out, surprise-surprise! They want a second date? People are wack.

  2. killacan August 31, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

    Just as a reference, he asked ME out. This is why I was so mad he didn’t pay. Also if I knew I was going to pay for myself I wouldn’t have ordered so modestly – I’d have gotten myself some sodas!

Leave a Reply

